Insights from the Materials for Sustainable Development Conference #MATSUS24 Spring

The Materials for Sustainable Development Conference #MATSUS24 was held from the 4th to the 8th of March 2024 at the World Trade Center in Barcelona, Spain.

This MATSUS24 Spring edition conference was pleased to have as general scientifics organisers the scientists Vida Engmann from University of Southern Denmark and F.Pelayo Garcia de Arquer from ICFO-Institut de Ciències Fotòniques.

The important role of the symposium organisers in shaping the programs and scientific content should also be highlighted, as their contributions ensured the success of this multi-symposium event addressing #Catalysis, #Perovskites, #GreenEnergy, #Batteries and #Nanomaterials.

During this week of multi-symposium sessions, the MATSUS24 conference topics focused on Sustainable Development, covering key challenges related to photovoltaicorganic and perovskite semiconductorsNext-generation LED lights, light detectors,and solar fuels will be discussed, including photoelectrochemistry, electrolysis and spectroscopy, to improve our understanding of these processes and focus on the sustainability and scalability of these technologies.

The conference also featured a Plenary Session with outstanding speakers Prof. Moungi G. Bawendi from Massachusetts Institute Of Technology (MIT) and #NobelPrize in Chemistry 2023, Prof. Gregory D. Scholes from Princeton, Prof. Beatriz Roldán Cuenya from Interface Science Department at the Fritz Haber Institute (FHI) and Prof. Laura Herz from University of Oxford, who gave talks exploring “A synthesis for Quantum Dots unlocks a nano-world of opportunities”, “Metal Halide Perovskites for Photovoltaic Applications”, “Life and Fate of Energy Conversion Electrocatalysts” and “Coherence phenomena in ultrafast dynamics”.

The spring edition of MATSUS24 was also pleased to welcome renowned symposium organisers and invited speakers, who raised the level of the sessions with their expertise of the topics discussed.

Congratulations to Paula Pinyol, Ana Herceg, Helen Tyrrell, Antony Litovoilis, Venkata Siva Rama Krishna Tandava, Neus Munar and Dorota Szepke on winning the Best Poster Prizes in recognition of their outstanding research and efforts. Also to highlight Nithin Thomas Jacob, Phradi Srivasta and María Rodrigues Pinto for winning the Online Poster Prizes.

From nanoGe would like to thank all participants, speakers and scientific organisers who contributed to the success of MATSUS24.

MATSUS24 was sponsored by: ReMade@Ari, Springer Nature, Royal Society of Chemistry and ACS Publications.